Looking Stupid

by jenkapotente

Give me your face.
I want to hold it a bit:

I like the way my thumbs
rest
ever so delicately
and perfectly
upon the hollows of your cheeks
as if
your face were designed
to be held by my otherwise
clumsy hands.

Have you noticed
my movements are most
skilled when
caressing you?
I often feel so
stunted.
I constantly await the day
I bloom
And yet,
I am adept in matters of
your topography, and

Under the blanket of night
my actions hold
no trepidation.
Your perfection humbles me;
I bow to your magnificence
with gratitude
that your gaze
occasionally grazes my form,
and to be in
your line of vision
is like being bestowed a
gift from the gods.

I find myself thanking
each imagined individual in
your line of ancestry which
came together
to create
you.
But all you see
is a dreamy gaze staring
back at you
as I gently clutch
the face I love so much.

You squeeze my knee
and I wonder how long I’ve been looking stupid.